HomeAbout UsHistorySponsorsFriends of the SocietyContact Us
FAQPress AttentionFun StuffA Year in PicturesJudgesContest

Lafayette Youth
Arts Society
In 2015, the 2nd Annual Writing and Photography Contest went across seas to partner with Tingstrup Skole in Thisted, Denmark, to host a sister photography contest! Read more...
We're an organization run by kids, for kids. We're here to provide a place for the kids of Lafayette to showcase their artistic talents (and artistic doesn't necessarily mean painting and drawing alone).
Meet the LYAS
The Lafayette Youth Arts Society is run entirely by high school and middle school students. Click here to meet the team!
Press Attention
Meet the winners of the 2nd Annual Writing and Photography Contest!
Video filmed and edited by LYAS team member Isaac Douglas, a sophomore at Acalanes High School.
Free Writing Workshops
The Lafayette Youth Arts Society conducts free writing workshops for middle school students. The last series of workshops took place in November 2014 through January 2015, on the Saint Mary's College campus in Orinda. Read more...
Thank you to the Lafayette Community Foundation and the Lamorinda Sunrise Rotary Club for your support!
Congratulations to the winners of the 3rd Annual Writing and Photography Contest!
1st Place: John Kalil
2nd Place: Maragaret Baty
3rd Place: Lena Johnson
Creativity Prize: Hannah Galdes

1st Place: Leah Macarewich
2nd Place: Sophie Krayna
3rd Place: Sophia Benveniste
Creativity Prize: Asher Berlin
Junior Prize: Kristi Conner

Honorable Mentions
Brooke Degner
Omri Elhasid
Nicole Frigon
Eliana Goldstein
Lyndsey Goldwyn
Peter Kraszulyak
Jenner McDonald
Ella Sadikman
Shelby Suppiger
Zoe Weinstein
Alyssa Armanino
Beth Daughters
Jacob Cherayil
Mac Darin
Hannah Galdes
Ellie Guthrie
Charlie Keohane
Danielle Nader
Nicole Nader
Emily Sverak
Alex Thornton
Weilian Zhang
If you see your name above, please email a photo of yourself and a short bio to contactlyas@gmail.com so that we can recognize you on the winners' pages. Thank you!
Best of the Best
Photos from our contest winners over the years
Contest Winners
Family and friends of the winners flocked to the 3rd Annual Writing and Photography Contest Awards Ceremony in May to support Lafayette's young writers and photographers
Writing Contest Judges
The LYAS always strives to find the most illustrious judges for our annual contests. Here are a few of our judges from over the years.
Robert Hass
Former U.S. Poet Laureate; winner of the 2007 National Book Award; shared the 2008 Pulitzer Prize
Daniel Handler
Author of the wildly popular book series A Series of Unfortunate Events (under the pen name Lemony Snicket)
Yiyun Li
Recipient of the MacArthur Genius Grant in 2010; winner of two California Book Awards
Gary Crabbe
Photographer for various publications, including the National Geographic Society, TIME Magazine, New York Times, Forbes Magazine, The North Face, Sunset, L.L. Bean, The Nature Conservancy, & The Carnegie Museum of Natural History.
Cheri Facer
Cheri Facer is a teacher who has taught for over thirty years in Lafayette. She loves her life's work - working with children and sharing her love and the magic of reading and writing with her students.
Alison Burke
Alison Burke was born in Berkeley and raised in Orinda. After graduating from Miramonte High School in 1970, she received a BA in English at Stanford before getting her teaching credential at UC Berkeley. She has taught Spanish and English for 24 years at Miramonte. 
LYAS in the news
John Kalil, the 1st place winner for writing in the 3rd Annual Writing and Photography Contest, was featured in Lamorinda Weekly in September. Click here to read the article!